RESULTS-BASED PROTECTION GUEST SPEAKER SERIES AND DISCUSSION FORUM

PROTECTION STRATEGIES:
Supporting results-based approaches to protection

with Louise Aubin
Global Protection Cluster Coordinator

THURSDAY, June 11th
9:30am-10:30am (Washington)
2:30-3:30pm (London); 3:30-4:30pm (Geneva);4:30-5:30pm (Amman) 5:30pm-6:30pm (Nairobi); 9:30pm-10:30pm (Bangkok)
WEBINAR REGISTRATION HERE

  • Previous Webinars:
    – Monday, May 18th, 9:30am (Washington): Protection Strategies: What We Know So Far
    RECORDING NOW AVAILABLE
    – Wednesday, May 20th, 9:30am (Washington): Lea Krivchenia – Program Manager at Nonviolent Peaceforce, South Sudan
    RECORDING NOW AVAILABLE
    – Tuesday, June 2nd, 9:30am (Washington): Kate Rougvie – Former Gender-based Violence & Protection Sector Advisor / GBV Sub-Cluster Co-Coordinator, Central African Republic
    RECORDING NOW AVAILABLE
    – Friday, June 5th, 9:30am (Washington): Caroline Masboungi – Protection coordinator/ GBV specialist, Danish Refugee Council, Lebanon
    RECORDING NOW AVAILABLE

ONLINE DISCUSSION
The webinar is part of a four-week on-line discussion
Monday, May 18th – Friday, June 12th, 2015
DISCUSSION FORUM REGISTRATION HERE
and RSVP to Eileen McCarthy (emccarthy@interaction.org) to join the discussion

The Results-Based Protection Program is hosting an online discussion forum and webinar series to capture examples of good practice that demonstrate key elements of a protection strategy that support a results-based approach to protection. The discussion seeks to capture differences in approaches, lessons learned, and proven methodologies that enhance protection strategies.

You must register for both the webinar series and online discussion to
participate in both events

DISCUSSION FORUMS
The InterAction Results-Based Protection (RBP) Program hosts an online platform (https://protection.interaction.org) that serves as a central point of reference and site for discussion on results-based approaches to protection. As part of the online platform, discussion forums are used as a space to solicit the contribution of key stakeholders, including practitioners and specialized experts, to develop the key elements of results-based protection. Following the conclusion of each discussion, InterAction and the Learning and Steering Group will evaluate and analyze the conversation to incorporate learning into the Program and determine elements for further exploration.

Background
Over the past month, the InterAction Results-Based Protection Program carried out several interviews with key stakeholders to explore the development of protection strategies across different contexts. Representatives from INGOs, country-specific NGO coordination bodies, and ProCap officers from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Central African Republic (CAR), Lebanon, Nigeria, and South Sudan were interviewed and asked to reflect on both the process and content of protection strategies.

On May 18th, the Results-Based Protection Program held an introductory webinar, Protection Strategies: What We Know So Far to share preliminary findings coming out of the review. A recording of the webinar is available here. This webinar kick-started an online discussion with additional stakeholders including protection coordinators, UN agencies, national civil society, and other sector actors. This webinar and online discussion is open to field and headquarter staff from NGOs, UN agencies, and government representatives. Practitioners with considerable experience in protection programming, coordination, and the involvement/development of protection strategies are encouraged to participate. To join the online discussion, please register here.

The Results-Based Protection Program is funded by ECHO and USAID/OFDA