Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar Discussion: Iterative and Adaptive Humanitarian Action: A Discussion with ALNAP and Practitioners

June 12 @ 9:30 am - 11:00 am EDT

Iterative and Adaptive Humanitarian Action: A Discussion with ALNAP and Practitioners 

Tuesday, June 12th, 2018

9:30 – 11:00am (Washington)

2:30 – 4:00 p.m. (London); 3:30 – 5:00 p.m. (Geneva); 4:30 – 6:00 p.m. (Amman);

4:30 – 6:00 p.m. (Nairobi); 8:30 – 10:00 p.m. (Bangkok)

via Go-To-Webinar

Recognizing the inherently dynamic settings of humanitarian crises, please join us for a webinar discussion with Alice Obrecht (Senior Research Fellow, ALNAP) and protection practitioners to unpack– how humanitarian actors can better understand changes in the context, pivot programming responsively, and offer more relevant and effective support to crisis-affected people as their situations change over time.

Building on ALNAP’s recently published case study and forthcoming research on adaptive humanitarian action, this webinar aims to further explore iteration and adaption for protection, the main factors supporting adaptability for more responsive action, common barriers and how to overcome them, and practical application of adaptive techniques.  During the webinar practitioners from Mercy Corps, Geneva Call, and Saferworld will be invited to reflect on their approaches to iterative learning and adaptation for protection outcomes and discuss cultivating a supportive environment for these approaches.

Moderator: Jenny McAvoy, Director of Protection, InterAction

Presenter: Alice Obrecht, Senior Research Fellow, ALNAP

Panelists:

  • Sarah Henly-Shepard, Senior Advisor for Climate Change and Resilience, Mercy Corps
  • Katherine Kramer, Monitoring, Evaluation, Accountability, and Learning Advisor, Geneva Call
  • Monica Stephen, Conflict and Security Advisor, Saferworld

Participation + Registration

To sign up for the webinar on June 12th from 9:30-11:00a.m. (Washington), please register in advance.

[RECORDING NOW AVAILABLE HERE]

 

Details

Date:
June 12
Time:
9:30 am - 11:00 am
Event Category: